lesley crewe

author

Date night

on March 9, 2013

We’ve been married for 37 years. Every time we decide to go to town for a night out, it’s the same thing. We argue about what time we’re leaving and where we’re going to eat. It never fails.

“Are you dressed?”

“No.”

“We’re leaving in five minutes.”

“It’s three hours until the stupid hockey game.” (which I don’t want to go to.)

“It’s 30 minutes into Sydney, I have to stop and get my lottery tickets and then fill up with gas and go to Central for bird seed. We have to pick up paper towels at Wal-Mart and then we have to eat and not to mention get coffee at Tim’s before the game.  So where do you want to go?”

“I don’t care where we go and it’s still too early.”

“You say the same thing every time! What’s wrong with being a few minutes early?”

“What’s wrong with being a few minutes late?”

“Where are we going for supper?”

“We’ll go to Colettes.”

“We can’t. It will be too busy, you know that place.”

“Swiss Chalet.”

“Nah, I had chicken last night.”

“Chinese food.”

“Again?”

“Just pick something!” I plead. “I keep telling you I don’t care where we eat! What about Boston Pizza?”

“Too expensive.”

“East Side Mario’s”

“Same.”

“Pizza Delight?”

“Nah.”

“McDonald’s?”

“I hate their fries.”

“Why can’t we go there just once?”

“Fine. We’ll go to McDonald’s to get your meal and then I’ll go to Harvey’s to get my meal. And since we’re doing that, we’ll have to leave early!”

“OMG!” I stomp into the bedroom and throw on the first thing I see. I stomp out again. He stares at me.  

“You’re not wearing that, are you?”

6 responses to “Date night

  1. sarahbutland says:

    So romantic! It’s a wonder why no Harlequin’s read this way. lol

  2. Liz says:

    The last line killed me!!!

  3. Charlene says:

    The Bonnie next time and tell John he is taking his life into his own hands with comments like that!

  4. linda hickey says:

    love this. so true.

  5. lesley crewe says:

    […] NO COMMENTS » MAR9 […]

Leave a Reply

