lesley crewe

author

My funny Valentine

on February 13, 2013

So now that hubby and I have been married for almost 37 years, this is what Valentine’s Day looks like.

We go to Walmart and spend five minutes perusing the card aisle. I’ll pick out the best and most expensive card I can find for him and he does the same for me. We meet at the top of the aisle and hand each other our cards. “Happy Valentine’s Day” we say together. We read the cards and say “Aw!”. Then we kiss and put the cards back.

We’ve just saved fifteen bucks that we’ll use at Wendy’s for a slap-up meal.

After almost 40 years together, saying I love you on Valentine’s day is sort of redundant.

8 responses to “My funny Valentine

  1. Love it! This is an idea that should be marketed…

  2. I love this! (LOL) Now that’s a frugal Valentine’s Day. I must follow in your footsteps. Enjoy your day with your husband of 37 years…what a blessing to be united so many years.

    -Kimberly

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Love it! May have to steal this tradition 🙂

  4. Cheryl says:

    My husband and I just celebrated 30 years of marriage I went to buy a card and felt $7.99 was too expensive to express my love. This morning mon amour told me that after 30 years of marriage, Valentine’s Day is only a commercial event and you don’t feel the same way about it. He felt Valentine’s Day was like the Easter Bunny and Santa Claus. At least I’m getting dinner!

  5. Anne says:

    Brilliant! Brilliant! Brilliant! Your friend Anne..I’m using Gilbert’s computer.xoxo

  6. charlene47 says:

    My husband bought me a Leslie Crewe book and chocolate. Best valentine’s present ever. He knows me so well. Happy Valentines Leslie!!

Leave a Reply

