lesley crewe

author

Hairdo….hairdon’t.

on August 21, 2012

I am known for my hair. My completely unruly, curly, stuck in a rut hair and have been for forty years. I am the woman who goes on the Marilyn Dennis Show as a great big BEFORE the makeover, when the experts say, “What were you thinking??”

Apparently not about my hair.

And then my hairdresser had enough and she attacked me with a flat iron. Turns out it wasn’t half bad…once people stopped giving me double takes. But having someone change your hair is a huge committment. I am now the proud owner of a brush, a comb, a hair dryer, a flat iron and curling iron. I haven’t owned a brush since high school.

When I went to a school once, they were expecting the person on my webpage. The minute I walked in the classroom they all looked at me in shock. “Where’s your hair??”

This kind of thing is unsettling. Consequently, I asked everyone I met if they liked my straight hair. Now what did I think they were going to say? Of course they were all polite. Wouldn’t you be? The remark I got the most was it made me look younger.

That was enough to make me fiddle with the comb and turn on the hair dryer. But this is the Maritimes and no matter how straight I get it, sections start to curl up on themselves in the damp, humid air. The soft water at the cottage doesn’t help. I might start out with a new style in the bathroom mirror, but by the time I get where I’m going, my hair is tripping the light fantastic on my scalp.

I am experimenting with the curling iron. I was told not to open the wand, just curl my hair around the round thingy, and do it every which way. Have you ever done this? It’s incredibly difficult and the results are….rarely good.

I’m now using the flat iron as a travel iron for getting the wrinkle out of pants. 

So if you see me and I have straight or curly or sticking up hair, just ignore it and know that a great deal of effort went into it, despite the outcome.

It takes a village, people. And everyone in my village moved away and left me on my own.  

9 responses to “Hairdo….hairdon’t.

  1. Gigi Rowlings Jackson says:

    Wednesday morning, 7 AM. I just read your wonderful blog and it is just the best way to start the day! I am smiling and feeling cheerful…..my husband is looking at me, over the top of his eyeglasses, suspiciously. I have an overwhelming need to get out the curling iron this morning and try to make myself look younger…..yesterday I turned two thirty-fives (70 ~ don’t know the metric conversion.) You have, once again, inspired me. Thank you so very much for your talent and delightful personality! Gigi Rowlings Jackson xo

  2. Marilyn Young says:

    Flat iron as a travel iron! I love it!

  3. Hair is like that. It totally changes your entire look when you change it. Trust me. I know. I’ve been long, mid-length, shoulder-length, bald… And all at the curly and straight stages.
    When the weather wants to fight you, skip the flat iron. Try washing and scrunching. I always find that to look nice with the right product. Bend over, and just grab at the length of it, and “scrunch”. You can also look in “plunking” which is used mostly by mixed race people with crazy curly hair, but may work!

    And yeah… Flat ironing is awesome. It gives a much cleaner, smoother look. Professional, even. That’s probably why I like mine short and curly. 🙂 Hair lazy is what I am!

  4. sarahbutland says:

    Thanks for doing this so a lot of us don’t have to! Mine looks so great when I comb it after a shower but then it dries into a huge curly mess so I ponytail it daily. Less trouble and a lot less time!

  5. Hey! I simply wish to give an enormous thumbs up for the good information you could have right here on this post. I will likely be coming again to your blog for extra soon.

  6. Tasha MacQueen says:

    I don’t know what you’re talking about….your hair is ALWAYS great!!

Leave a Reply

