lesley crewe

author

I’m a Muppet

on July 9, 2012

I can’t use my right knee anymore. This is the price I pay for trying to be healthy. I can’t use my arms anymore. This is the price I pay for trying to be productive.

All winter and spring I walked four miles every morning, followed by an hour of cardio and weights. I can push, pull and lift ten pounds dumbbells over my head and do about sixty-push-ups (girl ones, okay). But now I know why they’re called dumbbells. I’m the dumb ding-a-ling who forgot I was fifty-seven and did too much at once, but I’ve always done that. Used to smoke a pack a day. Used to drink the whole bottle of wine. Used to eat the whole cheesecake….actually, that hasn’t changed.

My knee went first, but that didn’t stop me. Well, it did. I cried for a week. How often does the exercise bug hit? I knew I was doomed, so I decided to keep active with my to-do list.

1. Helped hubby with the last of the mind-blowing renovations at the cottage. This involved WAY too much moving around and lifting furniture and painting and shopping and fixing and cleaning up.
2. Washed the walls and ceilings and floors of every room in our house. Why?? Last time I did that I was two weeks from giving birth to my first child.
3. Mowed everything in sight and spent a week gardening at the house, the cottage and both cemeteries.
4. Cleaned up two other cottages and now keep seven hummingbird feeders clean and filled.

The last chore this summer is painting our house but this is difficult when you can’t move your shoulders or elbows. Hubby refuses to let me hold a paint brush because I find it difficult to hold a toothbrush. My doctor frowned and shot me up with cortisone.

All this fussing…for what? Maybe I’m pregnant. But that’s unlikely. You have to be able to move in bed to have that happen.

And not be fifty-seven.

11 responses to “I’m a Muppet

  1. Cynthia says:

    You mean you’re not supposed to drink the whole bottle of wine?? lol

  2. LOL, Lesley! Yes, it’s always a shock to realized we’re not 21 anymore. For heaven’s sake, take it easy. I’d like to have you around a few more years 😉

    • lesleycrewe says:

      Lordy….it’s a struggle. Hey Nanny….how do I make the font on here bigger? Now that I’m 57 I can’t read the screen like this!

      • I know, plus the font is too light. Unfortunately you can’t change the font of the comments for the theme you picked. If you want to choose another theme, let me know, it wouldn’t be too hard to change

  3. Haha. Too funny! Good notes for me to take and review at the age of 57, I guess.
    Maybe you should try yoga. I know, it looks really lame, but I got roped into a class because it was recommended by a doctor for my mom, and she wouldn’t go alone. WELL! It is NOT as easy as it often looks. If you like aching a bit, practice yoga.

  4. lesleycrewe says:

    Yoga is definitely not easy! Once my limbs are restored to good health, it might just be the way to go. I did try out my new bike today. Went to the mailbox and back. Next up….the London Olympics!

  5. Terrilee says:

    One word – yoga

  6. Austin says:

    Dear lesley , Are you ever going to be doing a book signing again around sydney , and if so could you please write me back if it is possible to get one of your book’s signed for someone really special . Thank you 🙂

    • lesleycrewe says:

      Hi Austin….I will be doing a signing in Sydney at Coles bookstore at the Mayflower Mall on Friday, Sept. 14. For my new book Kin. The time hasn’t been completely finalized…either 12-2 or 1-3 pm. I’d be happy to sign your book for you then. Thanks! Lesley

  7. Karen Green says:

    I know of what you speak and I am “only” 47!!! LOL But then again, I do have 6 kids,(they seem to get the blame for everything anyway) hee hee Really looking forward to your next book KIN,I have all of your books and have passed them around to friends and family and believe it or not they have all been returned to me!!! This doesn’t always happen !! Am going to try and make it to the book launch at the Savoy (it’s not invite only is it?) Hmmm… if so I’ll make it to the Cole’s signing!!! All the best , feel better soon and let me know how goes the Yoga, as my youngest will be starting school this Sept. I’m thinking about trying Yoga myself!!!

Leave a Reply

