lesley crewe

author

Encore!

on February 11, 2012

Okay, I think I may be a little too involved in my children’s lives. My youngest, now 25, will always be the baby in the family, I don’t care how old she gets.

I had a dream last night that she was up on a stage and there were hundreds of people in the audience. She was telling a story or a joke or something I thought was amazingly clever and when she finished no one clapped. No one.

I stood up at the back of the room and clapped and clapped and clapped. I clapped so hard I woke myself up, along with my husband. It was five in the morning.

“What the hell are you doing?”

“I’m clapping for Sarah.”

“What happened? When did she call? You never tell me when she calls.”

“She didn’t call. The sun’s not up yet. I had a dream that no one was clapping for her so I did.”

“You are a lunatic.”

I know. Most mothers are.

Leave a Reply

