lesley crewe

author

Pillow fight

on May 24, 2011

My husband and I have a hobby because he’s a pain in the neck and so am I. We collect pillows to try and remedy this situation with our poor kinked and wonky necks. Right this minute we have ten pillows on our bed.

We have old feather pillows that seem to cough up feathers every time you pick them up. We have crappy old two dollar pillows and very expensive ones that were on sale at the Bay. Then we have the foam pillows that are supposed to hold the shape of your head, curved high on one side and smaller on the other end. The kind that always look horrible in a pillow case. One of them is cheap and as hard as a cement slab. The other one is so soft only Mama bear would use it.

Then I invested in a water pillow, which I actually like but it weighs about twenty pounds and I have a hard time positioning it just right in the middle of the night without putting my shoulder out.

The latest pillows to come into the house are ones hubby saw on television. They are shaped like comma’s, with a hole for your ear. I’d like to see the person who can get their ear in this hole. It doesn’t seem to matter which way I turn it, my ear always misses it. I tried it for thirty seconds and biffed it on the floor.

My neck is constantly sore when I write. I’m seriously thinking of getting a neck brace just to prop myself up when I’m at the computer. I find I can only go so long before…..

3 responses to “Pillow fight

  1. I feel your pain! I too am known for buying a variety of pillows, hoping to find that ever-elusive “just right” one for my poor aching neck and shoulders. I have the water pillow, the oddly shaped pillows and an assortment of cheap to expensive ‘latest best pillow’ as advertised in the media.
    Currently, though, I am using a memory form pillow–and I like it so much that I bought another one to use at my cottage. I bought mine at the local Costco for around $30, but other big-box stores carry them as well. This pillow is by far the most comfortable one I’ve found; you may want to give it a try.
    Best of luck in your hunt. Let us know how you make out.

  2. deborah says:

    i get a cup of tea and a heated magic bag….ahhh neck pain relief

  3. Wow! This is hilarious and sad all the the same time. I hope you’ll find the right pillow for each of you – soon, and will keep writing despite the aches and pains .

Leave a Reply

