lesley crewe

author

What’s cookin’?

on February 18, 2011

I was asked the other day to contribute to a new cookbook filled with recipes from well-known Cape Bretoners.

It freaks me out that someone would consider me well-known. I go nowhere and do nothing almost every day of my life. But I digress.

So I mention this to my daughter over the phone.

“Give them your gravy recipe. That’s great.”

“I can’t. There’s no measurements….it just is what it is.”

“Give them your gingerbread men recipe. That’s great.”

“I can’t. That actually belongs to someone called Betty Crocker.”

“Give them your pizza recipe. That’s super great.”

“I can’t. I don’t have any measurements for that either. It’s just the feel of the dough. I can’t explain it.”

“Give them your dressing recipe.”

“I can’t. That’s just whatever I have left in the fridge kind of deal.”

“Give them your turkey soup recipe.”

“I can’t. See above.”

“Seafood chowder?”

“I make that up on the spot.”

“Macaroni and cheese?”

“I wing that too.”

“OMG. Don’t give them anything! I have to go.” Click.

Apparently I don’t follow a recipe. I finally understand what my grammy meant when I asked about her fabulous baking. “Oh, it’s just a little of this and a little of that.”  

Or maybe being vague and irritating  just runs in the family.

Leave a Reply

