lesley crewe

author

Decisions, decisions

on April 23, 2010

“What’s your next book about, Lesley?”

I don’t have a clue.

 I thought I knew but apparently I don’t. I called my daughter who was getting ready to go to work and moaned about not being able to write.

“What were you writing?” she asked.

“About this alcoholic mother and daughter duo….”

“Do you know anything about alcoholics?” 

“No. But they live downstairs and the sister lives upstairs and there’s two bratty girls…”

“You’ve already written Shoot Me. Gotta go, love you, bye.”

I tell my husband that I can’t write anymore.

“Sure you can,” he says. “Just fire one off.”

“It takes place in Sydney….”

“Have you ever lived in Sydney?”

“No.”

“You need to be emotionally connected to your story and where you put it.”

I can’t stand it when insights like this are delivered by a man wearing a pair of coveralls, just about to go out the door to fix somebody else’s bungalow. What the hell does he know?

Except he’s right.

My first book was about my life. My second book was about the first elderly naked lady I ever saw. The third one was about a story my mother told me. The fourth one was about my next door neighbours in Montreal.  The fifth one coming out takes place in Louisbourg, my mom’s favourite place.

The sixth one was supposed to be about this alcoholic grandmother and weddings and stuff and that’s why I called it Till Death Do Us Part, but it’s not happening.

The seventh one is a doozy if I ever get the time to write it. Why don’t I do that now, instead of struggling with this wedding one?

I don’t have a clue.

8 responses to “Decisions, decisions

  1. karen says:

    Whatever you write will be fabulous Lesley, just as all your other books are 🙂
    We’re all anxiously waiting to read your next book, no matter what it’s about 🙂
    I have an idea for you, I know this lady , mid 40’s who has 6 kids and a fisherman husband…….. LOL

  2. Booksnoop says:

    Hey Lesley…..

    What do you want to know? I’m from Sydney, planning a wedding and have met a few who like their dram.

  3. lesleycrewe says:

    You’d be a perfect source, Booksnoop!

  4. Diane says:

    Ha ha! “The first elderly naked lady” made me laugh out loud. In my little cubicle, spreading the joy.
    Funny stuff. 🙂

  5. penelope says:

    Lesley, I really think you need to skip this one for now. It’s like your entire writerly self is yearning to write K—– (censoring for drama and mystery and also I don’t know how much you want people to know about that one). It will be a big challenge, it sounds like, but it seems like in a way you have been warming up for writing this one. I believe you need to write it now, it’s calling to you, and when you talk about it you are animated and lively and passionate. It’s okay to put aside a project that’s not working for you. Songwriters have stacks of half-finished songs; painters paint over canvases that weren’t working well. Writers let novels go. You might come back to it if you let it lie fallow, you know? But please, let yourself write K—–.

    • lesleycrewe says:

      You’re probably right, P.

      It’s just that if I start (the novel that can’t be named), I wonder if I can do it justice. It may not turn out the way I envision it.

      I need to stop thinking and let it happen.

  6. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital
    to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your
    blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  7. Hello, always i used to check weblog posts here in the early
    hours in the daylight, since i love to find out more and
    more.

Leave a Reply

