lesley crewe

author

Test

on April 7, 2010

Sorry, I really don’t have anything to say, I’m just experimenting with this site. I want to see if I can add a picture to a post. Here goes….

View from our cottage

Holy moley…..I just did it! That’s great! Diane at Nimbus will be so proud of me. I’ve been driving her mad with questions. But it feels great to be able to do some of this on my own.

I’ve been feeling behind the times….ever since my son came home for Easter with his new smart phone. This thing is scary. It can do everything but babysit your kids….what am I saying….it DOES babysit your kids. You don’t hear a peep out of them. They’re too busy talking to the universe.
Then he tells me about all the “apps” he has. “Abs?” I say?
No. These are applications that can be loaded into your phone. Apparently I can take this phone and go outside in the dead of night and click something and the star constellations will appear and I can find them in the night sky and finally know what I’m looking at. REALLY? What happens when you trip over a tree root while you’re looking at the phone and/or sky in the dark trying to see if it’s the Big Dipper or that Orion guy with the big hunting bow?
And don’t watch a movie with someone who has this phone, because if you happen to say, “Gosh, isn’t that the guy who played Frankenstein in that weird movie in the 80’s?” your young know-it-all will look it up on his phone and say,  “NO, that was John Doe who was born in 1955 during a blizzard in the Upper New York State, who went on to win an Emmy for his long running series, Cowboy in Drag during the seventies. He died recently and left his entire fortune to his cat.”
Is it me, or does all this KNOWLEDGE kind of take the fun out of everything?
7 responses to “Test

  1. Karen says:

    Beautiful view you have there Lesley. Should send it to Cindy Day 🙂 Those Smart phones are something else aren’t they? I don’t have one but I know those who do and man do I envy them 🙂 But alas, it took me like 4-ever to learn the ropes of the computer so how long would it take me to learn the Smart Phone? 🙂

  2. lesleycrewe says:

    I can’t figure out our tv remote yet, so there’s no hope for me whatsoever!

  3. Karen says:

    I’m good with the t.v. remote but not so much with the dvd/vcr combined remote 😦

  4. Diane says:

    You’re right, I’m so proud of you! See, all this stuff isn’t so hard after all. You’ll be tweeting in no time.

  5. lesleycrewe says:

    Oh good gravy, Diane. One thing at a time! I know I’m a twit but tweet??

  6. Paul Crewe says:

    Or tweeting from her phone. My Android phone has an app for that…

  7. lesleycrewe says:

    If your phone is so clever, how come it doesn’t do laundry?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

