lesley crewe

author

disco stick

on March 24, 2010

Okay, so I’m at the dentist today. This is always an adventure because apparently my file is the thickest one they have in the office. I know I have a big mouth, but to actually have evidence of it, is off-putting.

In spite of this, Gina and her gal pals have become like family. So I’m telling them about the time, a couple of years ago, when I sat in their waiting room with an elderly gentleman and the song, “I wanna take a ride on your disco stick” came on.

I shrank in my seat as the poor man, this pillar of the community, slowly became aware of the lyrics.  The shock and horror on his face was evident.  He looked at me as if I was to blame. I wanted to shout that I had nothing to do with it but I was really, really sorry anyway!

We all laughed about it and then Gina resumed her escavation of my mouth. Not two minutes after this conversation took place, the stupid song came on over the radio! I haven’t heard it in ages. I jumped and hollered, “…ISN…ittttt sonnnn….” and Gina, being a dentist for many years knew exactly what I said despite the equipement in my mouth. She  yelled, “ARLENE!”

Her poor assistant Arlene thought something horrible had happened in the five seconds she stepped from the room and raced back in with her hand over her heart. “WHAT??”

“Listen! Disco stick!!”

God only knows what the other patients thought. 

You have to find some way to amuse yourself at the dentist’s office.

Leave a Reply

